History and Giants in Northern Ireland….yes Giants!!

I have travelled on a plane and in a car, but for this part of the trip I got to travel on a ferry. Living in Australia, you do not get to travel on these BIG ferries very often so it was pretty exciting for me. It only took about two and half hours to cross the water between Scotland and Northern Ireland and I spent most of the journey enjoying the sunshine on the deck. Even thought it was sunny, it was windy on the deck so I did need to wear a warm jacket and scarf.

IMG_0974

Once I arrived in Northern Ireland, I travelled to the Giant’s Causeway. It is a very interesting place because they have these strange looking columns. These columns are strange because they are in the shape of octagons!

IMG_1021     IMG_1050

This place is called the Giant’s causeway because there is a legend about an Irish giant called Finn MacCool who helped create the causeway. If you copy and paste the links below it will take to you two pages where you can find out about Finn MacCool and this wonderful legend. There are two stories for you to choose from or you can look at both of them. One if them is a video with no talking. The other is a page that tells you the story with some pictures.

video – http://vimeo.com/45569144

story with pictures – http://myths.e2bn.org/mythsandlegends/story5639-finn-maccool-and-the-giants-causeway.html

The next day I went into Belfast where I walked around the city. On my walk I came across the Titanic Museum. The Titanic was the famous ship that struck an iceberg on the way to New York. It was a sad story, but I learned a lot while I walked around the museum. Did you know that the Titanic was actually built in Belfast?

IMG_1096

Miss Merrix

🙂

3 thoughts on “History and Giants in Northern Ireland….yes Giants!!

    • I have been very lucky with all the places that I have been to these holidays Hariyan. And I know that now school has gone back you are thinking how lucky you are to be learning again! Miss M

      Like

Leave a comment